Letter of Gratitude

Writing a letter of gratitude, as we did for our class’ Positive Psych Challenge last week, is harder than it sounds.

There are some things that I don’t like to force, and writing is one of them. I have a hard time beginning to write knowing that it is required of me, even if I have a lot to say. Right away I had a couple people in mind that I wanted to thank and once I chose someone in particular, I knew exactly what I wanted to tell them. However, I found it hard to string together words. Knowing that it was required of me made me feel more apprehensive to begin writing because I didn’t want my words to show that I was writing merely because my prof told me that I had to for an assignment. Nevertheless, I needed to go beyond the requirement of my course and search for intrinsic motivation.

I have not yet received a reply, but frankly, I don’t need one. I would love one, but that’s not the reason why I wrote it. I wrote it to thank the person and to let them know how much they have influenced me in my life; I shouldn’t need anything in return.

I really think people should write letters (or emails, or even Facebook messages) more often to let others know how much they are appreciated. Not that we should do it out of obligation, but out of a genuine desire to let someone else know how we feel.

Try it out. I guarantee it’ll brighten someone’s day.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    overcoming1 said,

    I love your posts on the positive psych challenges. I have been secretly doing them myself… I even signed up for the Happy Rambles and post daily.
    Letters of gratitude are so much fun to give and I agree that no reply is needed, however, I feel completely awkward until it is at least acknowledged. Usually these letters pour from the heart and you wonder if you’ve poured too much? Thankfully, most of mine do not go unacknowledged, except from one particular person. Now I know this is the norm for that one person but I still feel left hanging and maybe a bit naked after I give it. But again as you have reminded me, that is not why it was written.

  2. 2

    eden said,

    well it brightened my day to say the least! :))) thanks Amanda you’re awesome!

    • 3

      amandakait said,

      I’m so glad! And I replied to your email, btw. Thanks for it. It honestly brightened my day too :)

      Btw, way to let the cat out of the bag :P Everyone now knows that you were that special recipient, hee hee.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

